Amtrak 29 & 30, Capitol Limited

The Amtrak Capitol Limited began, as a Pittsburgh to Washington train, on October 1, 1981, operating as part of the Broadway Limited west of Pittsburgh. It was extended as a separate train to Chicago on October 26, 1986.

Chicago Union Station to 21st Street and Halsted Street

21st Street to Englewood

Englewood to CP 509/River Junction

CP 509/River Junction to Hammond-Whiting

Hammond-Whiting to CP 506

CP 506 to CP 501 and Pine Junction

From October 26, 1986 (when it was extended west from Pittsburgh) until November 11, 1990, when it was re-routed via Cleveland, the Amtrak Capitol Limited used the Fort Wayne Line routing

CP 501 to Bucyrus

Bucyrus to Massilion

Massillion to Alliance

Pine Junction to Porter

Porter to Elkhart

Elkhart to Airline Junction (Toledo)

Airline Junction to East Toledo

East Toledo to Berea

Berea to CP 181 (Cleveland)

CP 181 to CP White (Cleveland)

CP White to Alliance

Alliance to Homewood Junction

Homewood Junction to Rochester

Rochester to Island Avenue

Island Avenue to CP Bloom

CP Bloom and Willow Grove to Braddock

Braddock to McKeesport/Sinns

McKeesport/Sinns to Connellsville

Sand Patch: Connellsville to Cumberland (Viaduct Junction)

The East End: Cumberland (Viaduct Junction) to Point of Rocks

Point of Rocks to Washington, DC

Washington Union Terminal